José Miguel - profile

José Miguel Asensi Martí


When and where was your first concert with the MCO?

My first concert with the MCO was in Harstad in June 2009 playing H.K. Gruber’s Frankenstein!!, with the composer himself conducting.

What is your most memorable moment with the orchestra?

There are many, but probably Beethoven’s 7th Symphony with Gustavo Dudamel in Evian in July 2017.

If you could play another instrument what would it be?


The first piece of music you fell in love with:

Beethoven’s Symphony no. 5.

What would you do if you weren’t a musician?

I love wine and history, so something related to this.


Born in Madrid in 1976, José Miguel Asensi studied horn with his father, Enrique Asensi, with Francisco Burguera at the Real Conservatorio Superior de Música in Madrid, where he finished with the highest qualifications, and with Will Sanders at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik in Karlsruhe.

Principal Horn of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra from 1999 to 2002 and Verbier Festival Orchestra from 2003 to 2004, he has collaborated with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Staatskapelle Berlin, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Lucerne Festival Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic and Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, playing with great conductors and musicians such as Claudio Abbado, Bernard Haitink, Seiji Ozawa, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Chailly, James Levine, Daniele Gatti, Andris Nelsons, Esa Pekka Salonen, Semyon Bychkov, Pierre Boulez, Daniel Harding, Fabio Luisi, Yo-Yo Ma, Anne Sophie Mutter, Barbara Hendricks, Thomas Quasthoff and Martha Argerich.

As a soloist and chamber musician, José Miguel Asensi has played with renowned musicians such as Gordan Nikolić, Dmitri Sitkovetsky, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Radovan Vlatković, Stefan Dohr and Quatuor Ebène.

Since 2000, José Miguel Asensi has been Principal Horn of the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León (Valladolid) and since 2013 he has held the position of Horn Professor at the Conservatorio Superior de Musica de Castilla y León (Salamanca).